The correct process of receiving knowledge in any field is by approaching a bona fide institute. Similarly, transcendental knowledge should be received through a bona fide disciplic succession.

Guru Parampara

The original source of all Vedic knowledge is Supreme Lord Sri Krishna. From Him the Vedic knowledge has been passed on through the generations of pure devotees, who carefully carried this message without diluting or adulterating its essence. The authorized chain of spiritual master and disciple who carry transfer this transcendental knowledge while meticulously manitaining it purity and import is known as 'Guru Parampara'.

The Fours Sampradayas

There are four authorized vaishnava sampradayas or schools of spirituality as enjoined in the Vedic scriptures. These four sampradayas originate from the Supreme Lord Sri Krishna. Lord Krishna imparted the divine knowledge to His four significant devotees, Lord Brahma, Lord Siva, Goddess Lakshmi and the four Kumaras from whom the sampradayas emerged. They further disseminated the received knowledge to their disciples and in this way the paramparas have to being.

Heading Devotee

Lord Brahma

Lord Siva

Goddess Lakshmi

Four Kumaras

Sampradya  Name





Also Known As





Prominent Acharya





Brahma Madhva Gaudiya Sampradaya

Hare Krishna Movement, established by HDG A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada traces its roots in Brahma Madhva Gaudiya Sampradaya, headed by Lord Brahma. Lord Brahma is the foremost disciple of Lord Krishna. In Brahma Sampradaya, Sri Madhvacharya significantly contributed by writing a commentary on the Brahma-sutras. After this the sampradaya came to be known as the Brahma-Madhva-sampradaya. The Brahma-Madhva-sampradaya further spread to the present day West Bengal, which was known as Gauda-desha so the sampradaya got its name, Brahma-Madhva-Gaudiya-sampradaya.


Srila Prabhupada is the 32nd acharya of the glorious Brahma Madhva Gaudiya Sampradaya, which has great acharyas like Lord Brahma, Narada Muni, Veda Vyasa, Chaitanya Mahaprabhu, etc. The disciplic succession is as follows:

  • Krishna
  • Brahma
  • Narada
  • Vyasa
  • Madhva
  • Padmanabha
  • Nrihari
  • Madhava
  • Akshobhya
  • Jaya Tirtha
  • Jnanasindhu
  • Dayanidhi
  • Vidyanidhi
  • Rajendra
  • Jayadharma
  • Purushottama
  • Brahmanya Tirtha
  • Vyasa Tirtha
  • Lakshmipati
  • Madhavendra Puri
  • Isvara Puri, (Nityananda, Advaita)
  • Lord Caitanya
  • Rupa, (Svarupa, Sanatana)
  • Raghunatha, Jiva
  • Krishnadasa
  • Narottama
  • Vishvanatha
  • (Baladeva) Jagannatha
  • Bhaktivinoda
  • Gaurakishora
  • Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati
  • Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada
Hare Krishna Mandir is run by Hare Krishna Movement Ahmedabad, a trust registered at Ahmedabad with registration number E/2684/Gandhinagar on 05/05/2008.